Character Design

Below are some early character concepts I developed for our project, I attempted to keep the designs similar to the references and research on the previous post.

With the concepts above I was attempting to keep them similar to the character references we had discussed as a group (PopEye, Gerald McBoingBoing, Fallout) anything with that flat, simplistic stylised look to it.

From this I cut the concepts down into 4 that I felt were my strongest but that also best matched the style we are hoping to aim for. I then drew these chosen concepts out digitally to see how they would translate on screen. Also taking into account the research I had gathered on character design, I tried to use shapes that wouldn’t be intimidating to the audience by avoiding sharp, defining edges.

10

We decided to go with a female character due to the fact most PSA videos were directed towards men or where discriminatory towards women, we decided to break the trend. From here as a group we decided that the top right image ‘Velma’ was a design that we all enjoyed, it was simple yet interesting, as these were just early concepts I hadn’t bothered developing a full character and instead focused on the face and personality I was trying to convey, so the next step was to concept the full character design.

a-kimmy

However, in the concept above ‘Kimmy’ looks too young, she’s about to be heading off to university not starting school, so I had another attempt, I had been giving the character boots as I don’t really like drawing feet but turns out the boots were contributing to making her look younger than we needed her to.

I had also started to develop a side profile for the design above, turns out side profiles are incredibly hard to draw, so I kept it rough.

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-01-20-18

Reference for Kimmy’s clothes was also taken from Pinterest of a few styles that were available from the 1930’s to the 1980’s (the golden age years.) Keeping it simple and relatively tight to Kimmy’s figure to avoid having to animate at a later stage the secondary action of her clothes.

Matt then took this rough concept and produced a more refined design of Kimmy as he had taken on the role of art director, with character design being a strength of his, as a team we also really admire Matt’s style of drawing and had decided that he would do the final concept/design for any characters and artwork we would need in order to keep the style consistent throughout the project.

Kimmy, re-drawn by Matt, including a few emotions that she may feel throughout our episodes:

Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 22.45.30.png

 

Leave a Reply

