Sculpting Reference

Alec had mentioned it may be useful for myself to have a library of sculpting references that are somewhat similar to the style of Matt’s character designs, to help me figure out how I’m going to create it in 3D: below are some of the images I’ve pulled together form sources such as google images, pinterest and artstation.

I knew that the nose was going to be an area that would provide a bit of a challenge as we weren’t sure of how exactly the design would be translated into 3D, however upon finding the images below I had a bit more of an understanding as to how it could be done – similar to the images below I planned on turning the end of the nose up slightly but keeping quite a defined bridge to the nose, rather than a smooth surface portrayed below.

Below is a link to a pinterest board I came across whilst scrolling through which contains numerous references to facial topology and anatomy which will be extremely useful when I move from zbrush to maya for retopologising using maya’s quad drawing tool. Keeping good, clean topology will not only be of benefit to myself but also to Scott for rigging purposes, it will affect how the character deforms and moves when animated.

https://uk.pinterest.com/fsanges/facial-topology-anatomy/

Scott also lent me his copy of Stop Staring as he had come across some facial modelling and topology information that would be of use regarding the nose, mouth, chin and joining them together. This book contains rigging techniques that Scott intends to follow and use on our character so it’s best if I follow a similar topology layout.

I also know myself that I tend to struggle with modelling the lips in particular, so I gathered a few sculpting videos together before I started into any of the modelling, it may even be easier to build a basic mouth in maya with the correct topology and then bring that into zbrush to build up the depth before taking it back into maya for retopologising.

Ryan Kingslien goes into much more detail about how the techniques he uses when sculpting in zbrush which I did find particularly informative.

Another source that will be extremely helpful in sculpting both the face and the body is Burne Hogarth’s dynamic anatomy, below are just a few images that will be useful with sculpting the different features of the face:

 

Leave a Reply

